NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA)was established during the BSA’s 100th Anniversary in 2010 with the first recipient to receive the award a year later. The award was created to recognize notable Eagle Scouts who had either performed distinguished service at the local, state, or regional level or who were known nationally, but had not yet met the 25-year tenure as an Eagle for the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award. Often, worthy candidates for the NOESA have inspired others through their actions and have devoted a lifetime to their profession, avocation, community, and beliefs, at great sacrifice to themselves and their families.

The NOESA has gained prominent standing among Scouting recognitions. Previous recipients include famous authors, explorers, television personalities, military flag officers, scientists, government officials, and prominent businessmen.

The selection of recipients is made by the local council NESA committee (which may utilize a NESA awards sub-committee), Scout executive, and council president. Each recipient’s actions and accomplishments should elevate the stature of Eagle Scouts in the public eye. Therefore, not all nominations are acted upon, and a substantial percentage of nominations are declined. 


Benjamin Daly
Steven R. Polcyn
Steven L Rodriggs
Larry Teshara
Jack Thompson
Frank Yoke
Michael J. Allison*
Cam Bauer*
Kenneth Carvalho#
Gary P. Snyder%
Johathan R. Thomas*
Richard Christman%
Quentin Alexander#
Wayne Bishop*
Jack Borde#
David Devoe#
William Upson#
John Verdoia*
Donald Wilkinson*
Michael Miller*
Sam Steele*
Trevor Bormann*
Don Ford#
Louis Paulson#
Scott Rodgers*
John Walton*
Steven Himebaugh*
Jay Johnson*
Richard Schempp*
August Voelkel, M.D.#
George Fosselius#
Steven Hoagland#
Nick Tumilowicz *
Nils Venge#
Patrick Kenney%
Calvin Masuda*
Legacy Council Legend % Alameda # Mount Diablo Silverado * San Francisco Bay Area

Our goal with the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award is to recognize Eagle Scouts whose efforts have made a significant impact and have inspired others closer to home.