Eagle Scout Medal

Golden Gate Area Council Home of The GGAC Eagles Nest

NOESA Medal over Golden Gate Bridge

Seeking Nominations for the 2023 NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award!

Are you acquainted with an exceptional Eagle Scout within your unit or local community? Someone who embodies the daily virtues that define an Eagle Scout? If such an individual comes to mind, the Golden Gate Area Council’s National Eagle Scout Association Committee invites you to submit a NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award nomination.

Origins and Purpose:
Celebrating the 100th Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America, the National Eagle Scout Association introduced the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award. This honor, known as NOESA (pronounced no-ee-sah), was inaugurated in 2011 with the acknowledgment of the first awardees—the 2011 NOESA Class.

Recognizing Extraordinary Service:
The NOESA is bestowed upon Eagle Scouts who have exhibited remarkable service at the local, state, regional, or national levels. Candidates are lauded for their capacity to inspire others through positive actions, underscored by noteworthy achievements and unwavering dedication to their vocation, passions, community, and values.

A Legacy of Accomplished Recipients:
Continuing the tradition of honoring exceptional individuals, the 2023 GGAC NOESA Class proudly includes:

  • Mike Fujumoto (1960)
  • Michael Lennox (1985)
  • John Minney (1950)
  • Colby Powell (1990)
  • Steve Patrick Rodriguez (1987)
  • Steve H. Rodriguez (1959)
  • Frank Starn (1976)

The award’s page contains a full list of the Council’s NOESA recipients.

Nomination Process and Deadline:
To nominate someone for NOESA, visit eagles.ggacbsa.org. The deadline for the next NOESA Class is October 15, 2023. The online form includes information about the award, previous winners, and more inspiring stories.

Inquiries and Assistance:
For any queries regarding the award, please do not hesitate to contact Awards Chairman Jay Johnson (1969, NOESA, Life) at [email protected]. Should you encounter any challenges with the website, please contact [email protected].

As we stand on the threshold of a new year, let us recognize and honor the exceptional individuals whose remarkable contributions embody the spirit of the Eagle Scout tradition. Your nominations are instrumental in shaping the legacy of the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award.

Some articles on this website feature Eagle Scouts’ names in bold with years, abbreviations, and acronyms after them. The numbers represent the year in which the Eagle Scout earned their award. The word “Life” marks lifetime membership in the National Eagle Scout Association.

DSA – NESA Distinguished Service Awardee
DESA – Distinguished Eagle Scout Awardee
ESSPY – Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Awardee
NOESA – NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Awardee