The Distinguished Eagle Scouts of the Golden Gate Area Council

The Golden Gate Area Council’s NESA committee is excited to announce a refreshed version of the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award page. With help from volunteers, council professionals, and national professionals, the refreshed page preserves the history and prestige of each Distinguished Eagle Scout Award. On the page, you will find photos of the recipients and the citation that accompanied their award.

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA ) was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or demonstrated eminence within their field and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. It is the National Eagle Scout Association’s highest award.

The GGAC currently has seventeen eighteen Distinguished Eagle Scouts. This list includes awardees from our legacy councils. The seventeen DESA recipients are:

  • Bill Baker
  • Russell Blanchard
  • Stephen Breyer
  • Gerald Carr
  • Kent Clayburn
  • Thomas Cropper
  • Clifford Dochterman
  • John Ehrlichman
  • Joseph Ehrman, III
  • Richard Goldman
  • Ralph Hinds
  • Louis (Lou) Paulson
  • Rick Pickering
  • Chauncey Schmidt
  • Charles Smith
  • Brian D. Thiessen
  • Lee (Skip) Vellom
  • Charles Weaver

The GGAC NESA committee will continue to update this page as more information becomes available to them. If you have any information, details, or photos to include, please send them to [email protected].