Eagle Scout Medal

Golden Gate Area Council Home of The GGAC Eagles Nest

Scoutbook Change Affects Eagle Application

On April 6, 2022, Scoutbook received an update that added Citizenship in Society as a required Merit Badge for Eagle Rank. This Scoutbook update has caused some confusion as Citizenship in Society is not an Eagle-required merit badge until July 1st, 2022. Anyone who turns in a completed Eagle Application before 12:00 am on July 1, 2022, is not required to complete the Citizenship in Society merit badge. Merit Badge requirements for a Scout completing the first six requirements to become an Eagle Scout by midnight, June 30th does not change. One minute later, Citizenship in Society becomes the 14 required of 21 merit badges. Eagle Scout Rank Applications should be submitted soon after the requirements are completed to lessen the impression of not being completed by the deadline.

The Issue

As of April 6th, all Scouts who have not completed the Eagle Rank (overall completion does not have a date in Scoutbook) have had their rank switched to the 2022 version. All completed requirements, except Requirement 3, have been migrated from the 2016 version to the 2022 version. Requirement 3 refers to the 21 merit badges needed for the rank of Eagle Scout and how many of them are required.

The Solution

If a Scout completes all Eagle requirements except the Eagle Board of Review before July 1, 2022, the Eagle rank can be manually switched back to the 2016 version in Scoutbok. Go to the Scout’s Advancement page, select Eagle, and then set the selector at the top of the page back to 2016. Reverting a scout to the 2016 requirements will enable you to produce a completed Eagle Scout application in Scoutbook. More details on how you can produce an Eagle Scout application in Scoutbook can be found in this video.

Additional questions or concerns regarding the changes to Scoutbook can be sent to scoutb[email protected]om.

Addtional Informaion

Some articles on this website feature Eagle Scouts’ names in bold with years, abbreviations, and acronyms after them. The numbers represent the year in which the Eagle Scout earned their award. The word “Life” marks lifetime membership in the National Eagle Scout Association.

DSA – NESA Distinguished Service Awardee
DESA – Distinguished Eagle Scout Awardee
ESSPY – Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Awardee
NOESA – NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Awardee