Eagle Scout Medal

Golden Gate Area Council Home of The GGAC Eagles Nest

Eagle Project of the Year Nominations Due

Nominations for the Eagle Project of the Year Award are due by Midnight on January 31, 2022. Nominations can be submitted online using the form found on the award’s page. At this time only those who earned the rank of Eagle Scout in 2021 are being considered for the award. Those who have earned the rank in 2022, can submit their project later in the calendar year.

The National Eagle Scout Association established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year award (ESSPY) to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by an Eagle Scout candidate to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity through completion of an Eagle Scout project.

The 2020 recipient of the ESSPY was Adithya Palle from Troop 110 in the Mission Peak district.

This project is a primitive Native-American strut at Tule Ponds at Tyson Lagoon (a site developed to educate students in the health of the watershed of the San Francisco Bay). The project involves cutting willow wood from the frame, setting it in the ground, securing the frame and attaching four layers of tule thatching.

The Tule house will be a popular attraction that teaches visitors about Native American life. Tule Ponds had on that blew down. Project research resulted in a strong tule house that children and visitors can enjoy for year to come. The house captures a relic of the past and is an attraction displayed so children who visit on school field trips and adults can learn about the Native American lifestyle.

Adithya’s Project Summary
Adithya and crew with his Eagle Project.

To learn more about the award or view the council’s previous awareness, please visit the Adams Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year award page.

Some articles on this website feature Eagle Scouts’ names in bold with years, abbreviations, and acronyms after them. The numbers represent the year in which the Eagle Scout earned their award. The word “Life” marks lifetime membership in the National Eagle Scout Association.

DSA – NESA Distinguished Service Awardee
DESA – Distinguished Eagle Scout Awardee
ESSPY – Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Awardee
NOESA – NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Awardee