Eagle Scout Medal

Golden Gate Area Council Home of The GGAC Eagles Nest

Do You Know an Outstanding Eagle Scout?

Do you know an Eagle Scout in your unit or community who lives up to the daily virtues of being an Eagle Scout? If so, the Golden Gate Area Council National Eagle Scout Association Committee is looking for nominations for the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award.

The National Eagle Scout Association established the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award during the 100th Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America. In 2011, the award’s first recipients were recognized as the 2011 NOESA Class. 

Popularly known by its acronym, NOESA (pronounced no-ee-sah), the award recognizes Eagle Scouts’ notable local, state, regional, or national service. Candidates for the NOESA have inspired others through their positive actions reflected by recognized accomplishments and devotion to their profession, avocation, community, and beliefs.

Previous recipients include authors, explorers, television personalities, military flag officers, scientists, medical doctors, government officials, prominent business people, and entrepreneurs. The 2022 Class of GGAC NOESAs included Gary L. Baysmore (1965, NOESA), Trex Donovan (1982, NOESA), David Haubert (1985, NOESA), Craig Mizutani (1986, NOESA), and Jeff Orthmann (1986, NOESA, Life).

Nominations for the NOESA are accepted digitally through the NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award page of eagles.ggacbsa.org. Nominations for the next class of NOESAs are due by November 7, 2022. Along with the online nomination form, additional information about the award, previous GGAC recipients, and other stories are available on the page.

Contact Awards Chairman Jay Johnson (1969, NOESA, Life) with questions regarding the award at [email protected]. For issues with the website, please get in touch with [email protected].

Some articles on this website feature Eagle Scouts’ names in bold with years, abbreviations, and acronyms after them. The numbers represent the year in which the Eagle Scout earned their award. The word “Life” marks lifetime membership in the National Eagle Scout Association.

DSA – NESA Distinguished Service Awardee
DESA – Distinguished Eagle Scout Awardee
ESSPY – Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Awardee
NOESA – NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Awardee