Extension of Time to Earn Eagle Scout

Eagle Scout Badge over Golden Gate Bridge

The National Advancement Team has granted the Scout Executive the authority to grant a limited time extension to a Scout who foresees that due to no fault or choice of his or her own, it will be impossible to complete the Eagle Scout rank requirements before age 18. These extensions are for work on Eagle requirements only. When a time extension is requested, the Scout should continue working on the requirements until a final decision is delivered.

A request must meet the three tests listed in Guide to Advancement topic Time Extensions (GTA- (netdna-ssl.com) ). Requests for time extensions must be submitted to the Golden Gate Area Council service center in person, electronically, or by mail to the attention of Michael Charlesworth ([email protected]), staff advisor for advancement. The form, “Request for Extension of Time to Earn the Eagle Scout Rank” (GTA (form) 2021 (netdna-ssl.com) ) must be used. Since extensions expire no more than six months after the Scout’s 18th birthday, it is wise to submit requests before a Scout turns 18.

Requests must:
(a) explain why or how the circumstances necessitate an extension,
(b) indicate the number of months believed to be necessary to complete the requirements,
(c) explain how that period of time was determined, and
(d) include documentation of the circumstances.

If a cause is health related, a statement from a health professional must be provided. All documentation and supporting evidence submitted must be dated and include the name of the author.

Reviewing the Guide to Advancement topics and at Advancement Resources | Boy Scouts of America (scouting.org) is strongly recommended while preparing a Request for Extension of Time to Earn the Eagle Scout Rank.

Some articles on this website feature Eagle Scouts’ names in bold with years, abbreviations, and acronyms after them. The numbers represent the year in which the Eagle Scout earned their award. The word “Life” marks lifetime membership in the National Eagle Scout Association.

DSA – NESA Distinguished Service Awardee
DESA – Distinguished Eagle Scout Awardee
ESSPY – Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Awardee
NOESA – NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Awardee